Agent/Broker Pre-Licensing

 

START YOUR CAREER IN REAL ESTATE

Salesperson Pre-Licensing

To become a licensed SALESPERSON in the state of Virginia, you must:

  • be 18 years of age
  • complete and pass the 60-hr Principles of Real Estate Course
  • register for and pass the PSI Virginia State and National Exam (www.psiexams.com)
  • get fingerprinted and have a state-wide criminal history check completed.
NVAR has two Principles of Real Estate classes scheduled this year. Click each for more info:
Starting November 6, 2017
newmembers

New Member Orientation

After getting licensed and submitting your application to join NVAR, you must successfully complete the Realtor® Orientation Class. There is no charge for the Orientation class. Pre-registration required.

Visit the New Member Orientation page here

usflagVETERANS
Eligible honorably discharged military veterans since 1993 may register for no-cost pre-licensing training at NVAR. This program applies to November classes only.

Become A Broker

• Complete 180 hours of education
• Pass the state and national portions of the examination
• Actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 out of 48 months preceding application for licensure
• Learn all DPOR requirements here.  For state and national exam information go here or call 800.733.9267

Here is when each of the 2017 Broker Pre-Licensing classes start. Click each to register and see all days each course meets.

Wed 1/31/2018, 9am-5pm (Fairfax): Broker Appraisal (45 hours)
Thur 6/07/2018, 9am-4pm (Fairfax): Broker Law (45 hours)
Thur 8/16/2018, 9am-5pm (Fairfax): Broker Management (45 hours)
Thur 10/04/2018, 9am-5pm (Fairfax): Broker Finance (45 hours)


VIRGINIA STATE LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR AGENTS AND BROKERS

The first step in starting your career in real estate in Virginia is obtaining a license. To the right are some quick facts about the requirements to obtain and renew a Virginia State Real Estate License.

Reciprocity Issues 
Reciprocity is a mutual exchange of real estate privileges, including the validity of licenses, recognized by one or more states. Search state boards and locate information on how to obtain single or dual licenses on the east coast.

Pre-Licensing FAQs

  • Real Estate Salesperson Pre-Licensing

  • Broker Pre-Licensing

  • Renewal of Salesperson and Broker Licenses

  • Reciprocity

  • District of Columbia Reciprocity

  • Maryland Reciprocity

  • Virginia Reciprocity

  • Florida Reciprocity

  • New York Reciprocity

For complete information on Virginia requirements, CLICK HERE or the image below to visit the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR).

dpor

341b

Check for upcoming Classes
FULL CLASSES & EVENTS CALENDAR