Virginia State Licensing Requirements for Agents and Brokers
The first step in starting your career in real estate in Virginia is obtaining a license. Below are some quick facts about the requirements to obtain and renew a Virginia State Real Estate License.
Requirements to Become a Salesperson
Ready to begin a career in real estate? Don't know where to start? Begin by choosing the right school to attend, an essential step to getting a successful start to your new career.
Start Your New Real Estate Career In Only 60 Hours!
Developed by real estate experts with more than 50 years of experience, the NVAR School of Real Estate 60-hour Principles of Real Estate course goes beyond the basic Virginia license requirements and truly PREPARES the student for the next stage after passing the licensing exam, with career path opportunities, and exclusive access to industry leaders. Sessions are taught in 10 consecutive sessions and satisfy all Virginia pre-licensing training requirements.
Click here to register for a "Principles" course or call 703.207.3244 to learn more. Click here for the state and national exam (administered through PSI) or call 800.733.9267.
Requirements to Become a Broker
Complete 180 hours of education, pass the state and national portions of the examination, and submit verification of experience (actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 out of 48 months preceding application for licensure). Click here for the Broker Pre-licensing Course or call 703.207.3244. Click here for the state and national exam (administered through PSI) or call 800.733.9267.
Renewal of Salesperson and Broker Licenses
Most licenses expire two years from the last day of the month in which they were issued, as indicated on the license. One exception is the concurrent broker license, which expires on the same date as the original broker license. All active brokers and salespersons are required to complete no less than 8 hours of coursework through classroom, correspondence, or other distance learning instruction, during each licensing term. Click here for NVAR's Continuing Education Schedule.
For further information contact the Virginia Real Estate Board at 804.367.8526 or visit www.state.va.us/dpor .
Reciprocity is a mutual exchange of real estate privileges, including the validity of licenses, recognized by one or more states. Search state boards and locate information on how to obtain single or dual licenses on the east coast.
District of Columbia
To begin the reciprocity process for DC, REALTORS® must take DC's three-hour fair housing course, obtain an original Letter of Certification from the board(s), and take the DC licensing law exam. Call ASI at 888.204.6192 to obtain a copy of the DC Real Estate Statute to learn and study before the exam, and call 800.274.2602 to schedule your test. On the day of your exam, bring the original letter(s) of licensure, the fair housing course certificate of completion, the ASI exam fee ($61), and any other required documents, to the exam site. (When you register to take the exam, ASI will send you a confirmation sheet that lists all required documents.) Click here for more information or call ASI at 800.274.2602 ext. 6192.
To start the reciprocity process in Maryland, applicants must provide a certificate of full licensing history from the state in which the applicant was first licensed. Send the original history document, attached with a cover letter signed by the applicant and including return mailing address, to the Education Coordinator, Maryland Real Estate Commission, 500 North Calvert Street, Baltimore, MD 21202-3651. When qualified, agents will be sent all information needed to register for the exam. Maryland does not operate based on reciprocity agreements with any states. Education and experience from a home state are reviewed individually for transferability. Waivers may be offered only to active licensees. Click here for more information or call 410.230.6230 or 888.218.5925.
To start the reciprocity process for real estate agents in Virginia, applicants must (1) pass the state portion of the examination; (2) submit verification of completion of 60-hours of coursework in the principles of real estate or verification of experience (actively engaged as a salesperson for 12 of 36 months preceding application for licensure); and (3) submit a letter of certification from other jurisdictions where licensed. To start the broker reciprocity process in Virginia, applicants must (1) pass the state portion of the examination; (2) submit verification of experience (actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 of 48 months preceding application for licensure), and (3) submit a letter of certification from other jurisdictions where licensed. Contact the Board's Testing Service, PSI, at 800.733.9267 or visit www.psiexams.com . Click here for more information or call 804.367.8526.
Visit www.myfloridalicense.com or call 850.487.1395 for information on reciprocity.
To start the reciprocity process for New York, agents must provide (1) a certification letter from the Real Estate Commission where the license was obtained (dated within six months); (2) a completed application; (3) an irrevocable consent form; and (4) the appropriate fee. Applicants seeking a reciprocal real estate salesperson's license must be sponsored by a home-state broker who must hold a current New York State broker's license. Applicants seeking a corporate real estate broker's license must file as a foreign corporation with the New York State Corporations Bureau at 41 State Street, Albany, NY 12231. Click here for more information or call 516.474.4429.
Broker Pre-Licensing is Back!